Taking my baby steps with Outreachy

Taking my baby steps with Outreachy

Hi!

I'm Aanu, and here's me journaling about my experience as an intern with Outreachy.

Outreachy is a program that organizes three-month paid internships with free and open-source software projects for people who are typically underrepresented in those projects.

So first of all, I'm a newbie! Newbie at open source, newbie at Outreachy, newbie at Oppia, newbie at everything tech!

(Open source is generally used to refer to open source software (OSS). Open source software is a code that can been seen, modified, and distributed by anyone.)

My first exposure to the world of creating changes through technology came in when I did a bootcamp with Binance on blockchain technology. (I had graduated with a First Class degree in Agriculture in August, 2021). Fast-forward, I started researching about Web 3, blockchain technology, and then I found myself developing interest in web development and technical writing. Voila! My interest in tech was nurtured!

Specifically on August 17, 2022, what would be my journey into Open source, interning with Outreachy, and contributing to the Oppia project was birthed! I had told a relative about my interest in tech, and he sent me links to help my journey, that was how I came across Outreachy.

Get to know the real me!πŸ₯°

I love to do so many things.

Anything that revolves around creativity, writing and researching, you will definitely find me there!

That means I enjoy developing websites (I'm a newbie of course!)πŸ§‘β€πŸ’»

I love making graphics designs (especially with Canva. Newbie again)🎨

I enjoy making fashion designs and sewing dresses. (Not so so newbie)πŸ‘—

And I definitely enjoy making music, blogging and writing stories!πŸŽΆπŸ“ (Catch up with my non-technical website here, where I'm always telling my truth to the world!)

Falling in love with the Oppia project

18 days, 1 hour and 4 minutes later, I am still in shock I got selected as one of the two interns out of over 70 applications received for this project!

Outreachy had over 3000 initial applications for the December 2022-March 2023 internship program. In the initial application, I wrote short essays that expressed how underrepresented myself and people like me are in the tech industry. How disadvantaged I am, being a woman, and coming from this part of the world-Nigeria. (A live scenario is that right now, I can hear the generator making a loud buzzing sound in the background because I have not had electricity for more than 24 hours now! And how much I struggled with getting an international account because Nigerian traditional banks can really be a pain in the ass!)😩

I was so excited when my initial application was received that I logged in to Outreachy immediately I saw the acceptance mail, and checked for a project I was interested in.

I kept scrolling and scrolling, and then I came across a project titled "Create effective and engaging online lessons on Basic Science and/or Digital Skills." My first reaction was somewhat like, "Okay...interesting... really? Ehn ehn...". The Oppia project rekindled in a new way a passion I always had burning in my heart-education! Teaching!πŸ”₯

Just 2 months earlier in May, 2022, I had given a donation to an NGO that offered free and quality education to secondary school students-Dreamcode foundation. I had wanted to go and volunteer in person, but it was in another city, and my commitments wouldn't give room for it.

Over the past few years, I had volunteered to teach fundamentals of music at a music school. During my university days also, I taught at tutorials, and always just had a flair for passing on my knowledge to people who requested it.

Oppia provided me in one single serving,🍜 a place I could express myself, and put to very good use most of my interests and skills.

Yes!

  1. I get to write stories! Well, simply because Oppia teaches concepts using real life experiences and story lines.

  2. I get to teach kids about Biology (One of my favourite subjects at secondary school. Can you guess the other subject? English language, of course!)

  3. I get to do translations in my native languages! Yoruba and Pidgin English. What's even more surreal is that I get to provide kids with something I never got, which is learning about Basic Science, Mathematics and Digital skills in their native languages!

With Oppia, I learn something new everyday. My mentors- Sean Lip and Allan Zhou are awesome! Their patience and willingness to help and provide the needed guidance is out of this world! Shout out to you both!πŸ€—

My fellow intern-Addisalem Degefa has proven to be a darling, just in one week of knowing her! I'm excited I get to make an impact in the world with my team!πŸ’•

Thanks for hanging out with me here, let's connect on:

Github

LinkedIn

Twitter

Take care!

Β